Science

kmik

Feb 2, 2005
I think contrary to most people here I actually like science. That is to say I studied physics and math and I love and enjoy it. Although reading some stuff as of late and thinking about it I've come to realize that science is an intellectual hobby and not much else. Most importantly it in no way suggest an objective truth. First of all, I think, and that is contrary to popular belief, science is deeply rooted in cultural understanding and human thought - that is, it does not exist independently of ourselves or of consciousness. It's not strictly "cultural" so to speak but it has to do with human way of thinking. The problem is that as opposed to language science is seen as something universal. The reason for that is that once some scientific advancement is made there is no need to reinvent it. However, Newton's paradigm could very well be replaced by another. There's nothing fundamental or essential about it. Theoretically there could be a million other ways of understanding the same phenomena, because space and time etc. arer human constructs. It's hard to imagine something else because we are used to thinking like that but it could very well be. So I think that science in many ways is perhaps very similar to, say, Feminist or Marxist literary criticism. Both take something very abstract and analyze it in a very specific and non-holistic way. Does that suggest objective truth? Actually, yes. But only objective truth within that framework. i.e what holds with one theory of literary criticism does not work with the other. That is not objective truth because it's not holistic. Science is overspecialized. As opposed to religion (as Dostoevsky notes in the Brothers Karamazov - I've forgotten which character says that, though) it is not a holistic understanding of everything but rather a collection of individual theories to be applied to individual cases. Now if the say that science "works"? First of all, just because it "works" does not mean