Serious Help With Mixing

NocturnalBurial

New Metal Member
Oct 15, 2011
Hey guys. I have read a lot of post about using your ears to find the good sound but where should I even begin. I have always dreamed about being a music producer and I know thats what I want to do as a career. I wrote to songs and posted them on youtube for some help with the mixes. I know that there is no "straight foward" method on mixing because every recording is different. I just need some personal tips on what I need to definetly do on these tracks. Imagine these songs were your songs and you were going to mix them. What would you do to them? Turn down the mids? kick drum is to loud? Add a compressor to the guitar? Side chain the kick and guitar? I really need some help because I am a noob at all of this and I am really trying to learn. When I listen to these songs with headphones on, they sound great but then if i listen to then on speakers or at low volume they sound like shit. Please help guys. Any advice on what i should DEFINETLY do would be greatly appreciated so I can learn more. Thank you for the help in advance! Here is the link to my songs

www.youtube.com/user/nocturnalburialband

When I listen to these songs with headphones on, they sound great but then if i listen to then on speakers or at low volume they sound like shit.

Maybe mix on speakers and at a much lower volume?

Hi there,

This could make your mixes 200% better:
First, take everything off the master inserts. It doesn't sound good right now because this stuff is pumping like crazy in a bad way. Make sure that it sounds GOOD before adding anything to the master inserts which should not happen too early as you should fight more important problems than loudness at this stage of your skills. This is why it sounds poor when you turn the volume down. A good mix sounds good at low volumes, too. Volume masks poor sound to some content.