Recording volume and Mixing Volume

NocturnalBurial

New Metal Member
Oct 15, 2011
Hey guys. I have read a lot of post about recording volume and mixing volume, a lot of people say to record at low volumes (guitar) then when mixing you can bring the volume back up with compression and limiters. I have tried and tried again but everytime I record something in that method, when i crank the volume of the song, the highs are WAY TO HIGH and it seems like there is no low end at all. Also, how can set volume levels and frequecy's so that they dont step on each other? For example with that, If I play a song that has double kick drum parts, the guitar seems to get quiet during the double kick parts then comes back up when the double kick stops. Its frustrating cause im a noob and im trying to learn but its stressin me out haha. Here is a link to some of my songs. Please feel free to comment on it and give me some advice cause I could sure use the help. There is only drums and guitar in these songs.

http://www.youtube.com/user/NocturnalBurialBand

Can of worms..

Your kick is triggering the master buss compressor making everything pump, or during fast double-kick pars, be more steady-state (lowered volume). If you absolutely need it there. figure out how to side-chain the compressor with a hi-pass filter untill this stops. You might find you will need to lower the kick after this.

As for your recording problems I am not 100% sure of what you mean, but.

In a typical guitar recording scenario, the amp should be blasting loud into the mic(s) hitting the preamp with a good signal to noise ratio. Signal from preamp hitting your sound card (AD) can be lower than you think. People advocate levels at -18 to -12 dB digital fullscale and so for all recorded signals, not just guitar. This is usually what you would call 0VU in the analog world.

This is called gain-staging. There are plugins you can buy or find that emulate the old style analog VU meters that will help you with this.