Singing with Ear Plugs - Live

Skyweaver

Shred or Die !
Jul 9, 2005
Australia
www.luthor.info
Been having a lively debate with another singer, he reckons that if you wear ear plugs you'll always sing flat live.

He is sure that you must have only one ear plug in and the other ear exposed.

This seriously just doesnt work for me, I find that I sing in pitch with both ear plugs in, as I can actually hear myself better in my head.

Anyone got any comments experience ?

I've found that singing with earplugs has solved a number of problems for me. I think it helps out quite bit in situations where the stage monitors aren't that great. I can hear my voice and all the other instruments MUCH better with earplugs. And I don't have ringing ears after a show, which is nice considering I use them for a living.

As far as I'm concerned they are the way to go.

There are two ways to know whether you're in tune or not.

First, you can do what Melissa Cross calls 'singing above the pencil' - basically, using your head as a resonant cavity (as there's plenty of free space up there for the average singer) - and this will allow you to hear yourself very well. I suspect that he's doing this.

Second, you can have the ears blocked so that your voice seems to be 'pushed' there, and then refer to the dampened surrounding noise to determine where you need to be singing - I suspect that you're doing this.

What needs to happen in either case is called 'audiating' - imagining the pitch perfectly an instant before the note comes out, as if you had a piano in your head (might want some Tylenol, making those fit is never fun) playing the notes. Otherwise, you're 'climbing' up to the note and this, while usable on occasion in case of fuckup or for added emphasis on a note, gets very annoying after a while. Doing. That. Every. Note. Is. Like. Accenting. Every. Word. As. If. It. Came. From. The. Heavens. And. Needs. Its. Own. Sentence.