Slate Chinas

See, to me Steve, I would never guess that was even a china, sounds much more like a slightly dirty crash to my ears :/ I really like chinas to have that "kah kah" or "kish kish" sound; maybe check out some Wuhan models? They're cheap, but chinas are supposed to sound cheap, so I've heard great things about 'em for that purpose :D

To be honest, maybe it's because I've been using it for like 5 years (which will change once you release EX :D), but I love the china in the original DFH sample pack - here's a clip

And here's the original song that beat is from (2:17 especially highlights what I think is the perfect china sound, and the section the beat I uploaded above is from comes right after - pretty proud of my transcribing for that one :D)

Last edited by a moderator:
I hate Zildjian Chinas. They never sound right to me. I prefer a Wuhan any day. I had a guy in the other day with a Sabian Paragon (I think it was) china that sounded really good too.

All personal preference of course, but I like the trashy "kish" or however it sounds.

+1 on that video metaltastic
behemoth is awesome >.<

i love the chinas on Conquer all
(the intro of the song)

Last edited by a moderator:
that sample clip had a pretty dark china.. there is only one variance in a china so they are pretty straightforward to sample... I'll do a bunch this week and post them, you guys can pick your favs and we'll add them to SSD 3.5 updates.

that sample clip had a pretty dark china.. there is only one variance in a china so they are pretty straightforward to sample... I'll do a bunch this week and post them, you guys can pick your favs and we'll add them to SSD 3.5 updates.

And that's why you, sir, are a top gent indeed :headbang: Dark Chinas or GTFO! :D

Yeah I'm with Aaron that china is sick.

Some other chinas I would like to see in 3.5 (because I'm with everyone else, I think the 2 chinas in 3.0 are not that impressive, especially the larger of the 2):