So I picked up Rock Band for the Xbox 360

Perhaps being an actual musicians makes these excursions away from an actual instrument more difficult then need be. I have indeed been enjoying my time playing Rock Band and for those would be Guitar Hero's, Rock Band is pretty similiar to what you would expect.
As a drummer I was certainly amped up to play the drum portion of Rock Band, but I must admit it pretty much feels nothing like playing real drums. The bass drum pedal was a nice touch that add a bit of realism to the experience, but over all it becomes not much more then a novelty and perhaps its best trait being that it teaches ordinary people coordination.
The guitar portion I found rather enjoyable, zipping through songs like And justice for all, Ride the Lightning, and Blackened. The strum bar on the Fender strat is a bit flaky, but the 5 extra buttons placed further down the neck add alot of flexibility to get through solos. Haven't tried the vocals yet...
Rock band is a pretty solid experience to be had outside of Guitar Hero and a fun way to kill time waiting for the next band practice, but perhaps adding some black metal/death metal tracks and a bit more polish could really help this series along. Could you imagine if that added some Opeth tracks?! :worship:

It always looked like it was a poorly thought out idea to me.. I mean, doesn't it cost a bombshell in the first place? I was always skeptical about how the drumming side would pan out.. And the fact is, most people can't sing well at all.