some questions...

Canis

Apr 1, 2003
first of all, greetings to everyone (and especially to Andy), i'm new here and i've got a handful of questions about guitar recording... and yeah, i'm a total beginner, i don't know crap about recording and some of the questions might look stupid or something... so bear with me will ya :)

ok here we go

my goal is to be able to record and mix several tracks of guitar (overdubs and stuff) and midi percussion... to put it shortly, i wan't to record riffs with drums, leads and overdubs.

my situation concerning hardware (yeah very limited budget :( ) is as follows:

Ibanez RG320 =>
Boss metal zone pedal =>
Crate GX-15 amplifier

the amp is mic-ed with a cheap grade Trust microphone (yeah one of those computer variants for internet voice comm :D ) which is plugged directly into computer.

this is pretty much everything hardware wise... now for the software... which solution would you recommend? i've got a Nero SoundTrax and a pirated Cubase SX. the problem is that i don't know how the hell to use them, so i would like to know where can i find any GOOD online tutorials, covering the basics and also theory of recording... and last but not least i would like to know if it's possible to record on such worthless hardware at all ... :|

ok thanks in advance... i hope i was clear enough, my english is so-so...

cheers

Hi !
OK, if you're going for small budget, then I'll suggest something : instead of trying to mic your amp with your little microphone, you should consider buying something like a POD or a V-Amp by Behringer, which is even cheaper (I guess you could buy a used one for around 100 euros). Plug it directly in your soundcard and here it goes ! I suppose you have a pretty bad soundcard also, so definitely you won't get great results.