Some random song I wrote and had friends provide vocals for

selke61

Music Producing Ginger
Jan 25, 2011
So give me your thoughts. I learned to tame that crazy low end a lot better, but I'm still learning :p I also got rid of my rooms annoying early reflection and I also learned to use the graph mode on Autotune. JUST A WHOLE LEARNING EXPERIENCE BRAH.

EDIT: Okay, utilizing some of ahjteam's helpful advice, I did the best I could, and in the overall outcome, I'm quite happy with the sound of this. Of course, they're are some elements that could use work, but what mix couldn't? In the end, this is a solid mix IMO and I have this forum to thank for all the help.

It's also quite louder, probably because of all the highpasses I threw in there. Good call ahjteam.

SONG REMIXED AND MASTERED
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/33877996/Song 1 FINAL MASTER.mp3

I give it a 6+/10.

- The low end (edit: and low mids too) is a total mess, try putting a highpass filter on all the tracks except kick and bass. Put a track on solo and start at 80hz, but don't look at the numbers, slowly turn up the frequency until you hear it clearly starts to get thinner, then back off like 10-20hz. Also if you use a spectrum analyzer and you see that there is a clear "end of the low end" (like you see at ~120hz in this picture) but only like -40dB noise floor woof below that, just put the higpass filter around there
- Overall the elements don't gel that well together. Rhythms are a bit too porridgy and leads are a bit too pokey and thin etc. Try to first to fix the balance stuff with faders, but after you think it doesn't help, start tweaking the settings, you most likely know what to do.
- The glitch surprise was kinda nice the first time, after that I thought it was redundant. Overuse is always too much.
- The drum programming sounds really robotic, especially on the cymbal department. I would also change the kick sound, it's really horrid.