SONAR TO PROTOOLS

Gnash

Lefty
Mar 29, 2006
Warrensburg, MO
www.threatsignal.com
I've been using Sonar on pc for 5 or 6 years now. I'm set to work on PT8 now. Any Sonar users who also use pt? Can you give me a heads up on what to expect? Do I have to buy an mbox for pt to work? I have a firebox now. Will my Waves bundle work with PT? It's time for me to finally use PT, since I am now a Music Tech student, and my school uses an HD system. Also, if I buy an earlier version of PT, can I upgrade to 8, and what does it cost? Thanks

Euch, gotta be honest man there's not much here that won't come up in a google search...

Yes you need Digidesign hardware for Pro Tools LE to work, or if you run M Powered then you need M-Audio hardware, or one of the new Mackie mixers that are coming out that are Pro Tools compatible.

I don't know if your hacked Waves bundle will work with PT, if you buy a legal copy then I'm sure it will.

Yes if you buy an older copy of PT you can upgrade to PT8, I don't know how much it cost's so you'll have to go find that out for yourself.

Stick with Sonar, your better off. Just my opinion. But I think Sonar "sounds" better, has a much more robust work flow, meaning you can customize the crap out of everything. You don't need proprietary hardware, meaning your not stuck with only 2 or 3 brands of hardware to choose from (I think the Firebox will probably sound better than any MBox, and probably rival sound of just about any Digidesign Hardware out there). Plus Plugin's are cheaper with VST because you get stuck paying more for ProTools plugins. Just look at any website that sells plugins. TDM for ProTools, VST for everything else!

But I think Sonar "sounds" better,
Bullshit, all DAW's sound the same. The plugins are different obviously but as far as adding all the one's and zero's up every DAW will come out with the same result. This has been proved on several occasions using null tests.

TDM for ProTools, VST for everything else!