sonar users

Dollarosa

Jan 17, 2009
Hey guys

Since I now know sonar does slip editing, I was wondering how I go about getting sonar to develop a 5ms gap with a crossfade when I cut a track (will like this automatic when I slice tacks), also does sonar have some kind of hiden button that allows me to see the vertical lines for each beat etc. One more thing, when I group the drums, sometimes one of the tracks ungroups, could someone properly tell me the way of grouping tracks properly.

Thanks for all your help

I have been using sonar for about 4 years and never knew it had slip editing until recently (on sonar 7.2)

Can't answer your questions, but after trying to edit drums on Sonar for a long time, I recently switched to Reaper and couldn't be happier. It is SO much better in every way. I still use Sonar for mixing and everything else though.

edit:
try the cakewalk forums, they're usually pretty helpful.

If you enable audio snap it will put a vertical line at the transients. I use audio snap a lot to convert audio to midi and it rocks, but It is capable of so much more than that. Im not even close to being an expert though...so I cant explain in very well.

Im sure that utilizing audio snap would help you out tons.

I found audiosnap very irritating when I was trying to learn how to use it. The documentation is horrible! But it is an awesome to. Like I said before, I mainly use it to convert audio transients to midi, but it has a lot more potential. You could use audiosnap to insert a split at every transient and then slip edit. If you have auto crossfade enabled it makes it even easier.

Thats just a tiny fraction of audiosnaps features.

Ive not tried reaper in quite a while, but if it really is THAT much easier I may need to give it another look. Im still using sonar 6 & it leaves a lil to be desired (i.e. Sidechain compression).

Cool, I have only used audiosnap a little