Song I did with ENGL - Victor Smolski

Sep 2, 2010
Wanted to share a song I did last week for a project I'm trying to start. It's not the best production in the world and i'm still a noob when it comes to recording/mixing but it is probably my best mix yet (that's not saying much haha). Anyway, all guitars (clean, heavy, leads) are done with an ENGL Victor Smolski through a Marshall MF400b straight cab (Celestion K-100's). I have some shitty vocal stage mic that I used to track...i'm still very new to mic'ing cabs. I plan on getting an SM57 soon though. Rhythm guitars are quad tracked (4 takes, 2 on each side). Carvin CT4 with Dimarzio Crunch Lab in bridge on Channel 4 and Schecter C-1 Classic with JB in bridge on channel 3. The track has all sorts of processing but I thought the guitar tones came out pretty decent. I put a limiter on the master track to make it louder so you can hear it's pretty pushed (I have no idea what I'm doing)...I kinda like the pushed sound a bit tho. Anyway, dig it. Feel free to leave CONSTRUCTIVE feedback, i'm not looking to get bashed haha.

http://soundcloud.com/undercurrentmusic/devils-highway

Guitars sound very good! Especially the cleans at the beginning :)
But your kickdrum has no balls (give it more lows and way less of 5-10khz) and do you have a bass guitar at all? :devil:
Drums not audible at all...

nice playing btw! fucking tight :Smokin:

i like such clicky bassdrums! and the guitars have a nice "chuggachugga". sounds great but the leads are weird/shrill in my ears and the overall mix has more of a live recording sound..thats not bad but i guess not wanted?

however..when i hear longer to it the bassdrum could have a bit more fullness..