Speculation: Stereotypical? Me? How to stand out from the mass

ahjteam

Anssi Tenhunen
Okay, as some of you might know, I am studying music production and marketing in Pirkanmaa University of Applied studies here in Finland and today we had a conversation in our class about Nashville musicians (for those who don't know: country music).

Someone made years ago a study on the subject what gear made "the Nashville sound" and came to the conclusion of the fact that almost all of them pretty much had the same gear within a certain range: Telecaster, Stratocaster, Les Paul and some others for guitars; VOX, Fender, Marshall and some that I forgot for amplifiers; Tubescreamer, MXR and some others for pedals.

But then I asked for a turn, and shifted an example to heavy metal, because I have really seen this same effect especially on this board...

- Guitars detuned, usually to drop C, C# or B
- EMG81 or EMG85 for pickups
- Tubescreamer to boost the sound
- Mesa, Peavey, Engl, Krank or Marshall for the amplifier
- and there has to be Celestion V30s in the cab
- Cabinets miced with SM57s at the grille
- the bassplayers just record straight to DI or use Ampeg
- drums are edited and/or programmed to grid and then samplereplaced
- vocals are autotuned
- And of course you have to sound as loud as the band next to you, so the whole album is then crushed to fuck against the brickwall :zombie:

What this causes that you have 100 bands that sound the same, within this very narrow range, that in the end pretty much sound the same. So how do stand out from the crowd? ¯\(°_o)/¯ I would say: try something else for a change. If the others are doing it, it propably works, but it won't sound like "you"; It sounds like "them". Thats the reason why I really like Faith No More and Clawfinger. They really don't sound like any other band in the end.