Steve, do you listen to classical music?

Jack Nippleson
May 13, 2007
Been wanting to ask this for a while.

Since I'm no longer in school, I'm studying on my own, and I've picked up quite a few pieces so far. Running through Mozart's K545 sonata and Beethoven's Op. 49 sonatas - their easiest sonatas, sure, but they're still pretty challenging in some aspects!

I wanted to know if you listen to classical music at all, and who your favorite pianists/composers are, if you do. I'm currently obsessed with Chopin's nocturne in E flat, what a stunning piece of piano music that is!

(Can't remember if I've made this topic before... my memory seems to be losing its strength already! Oh dear..)

Hmm, what a coincidence, just a few days ago I got quite alot of classical music CD's. Since I've not been listening to it before I had no idea what to expect, and the litterarely BLEW MY MIND! What a piece of art, I'm so stunned that I've missed out this kind of music before, but I guess that leaves more for the future!

Anyway, intresting to see what Steve's anwser is, but I feel like most musicians out there have classical music as an inspirations, and specially piano players...

Definitely, I'm curious to see who his favorites are. Classical piano is my preferred area of classical music, but I love me some symphonies and concertos, and the occasional opera!

Good question 1928!

I don't listen to anywhere near as much classical music as I used to do in times gone by......but that really applies to music in general, and that's due to time constraints as opposed to not wanting to.

Obviously with the classical piano/violin training I had many moons ago, I was exposed to a lot of classical music in my formative years. The Baroque period was one of my personal favourites......particularly the likes of J.S Bach, Scarlatti and Handel. Learnt a lot from those guys in terms of harmony especially.