Classical music for metalheads??

FailingAcension said:
Debussy and Bach are my favorites.
Debussy's Noctures and La Mer are great listens.
Right now on piano, I am learning Claire de Lune. Its hard, I'm by no means an expert at piano.

My favorite Bach piece is Toccatta and Fugue in D minor. I can play 4 pages of it but after that it gets insane hard.
His organ fugues "Little" and "Great" are really good.

Holst's "The Planets" is awsome.

I love Beethoven's Moonlight Sonata, mostly the really fast 3rd movement.

Griegs Peer Gynt Suites I & II are both good

Tchaikovsky's Swan Lake is excellent, as is The Nutcracker Suite, my favorite of that being Arabian Dance.

Chopin's Prelude No. 15 in D flat major is excellent.

Vivaldi's (sp?) The Four Seasons is good too

And this whole thread is just scratching the surface! Classical music is my favorite. :D

The Bach Toccata and Fugue in D minor is what got me into music. Before that I only listened to pop music on the radio. Yeah I can play the Toccata on piano but not the fugue. If you like Debussy you should eventually try tackling The Sunken Cathedral. Great piece, haven't played it in years myself.

When you mentioned The Sunken Cathedral I went and found it on one of my CDs. Man, it is so good. His music has this way of giving me metal pictures of what the song is about, moreso than others. Nuages or w/e (means clouds) is great and I can just see puffy cumulus clouds floating in the wind...

FailingAcension said:
When you mentioned The Sunken Cathedral I went and found it on one of my CDs. Man, it is so good. His music has this way of giving me metal pictures of what the song is about, moreso than others. Nuages or w/e (means clouds) is great and I can just see puffy cumulus clouds floating in the wind...
Yeah his two volumes of Preludes is amazing. It is so vivid in its depictions. Yeah Debussy rules. Ravel and Satie are also great if you like Debussy. Though I'm sure you've heard them already.