Symphony X at Northern Light

razoredge

Jul 22, 2007
A bunch of us went last Friday night (The 13th) Been a big listener since only 2000 and had no idea what I had been missing for 5 years. Most people have never heard of them, prog metal isnt what you'd call mainstream. Mianstream is for wankers anyhow. It was a great show and Ive got to take the time to get the new CD as its the only one I dont have besides the first EP.

Russell Allen is the best Metal Vocalist period (excluding the untouchable Tate). Hes got the grit and power but can sing all the other moods involved with their music as well. Unlike alot of other vocalists he gets it done live too.

We had a very small crowd but there was no lack of enthousiasm. As Russell said "Ah, we are small but we are mighty".

On the down side I will say the soundman had his head clear up his butt and I was a bit pissed. As soon as they started playing it was obvious the drums were on top, over powering everything including the vocals. The guitar, bass and keys just had no chance in hell of cutting through. Such a shame too because the second band, Echoes of Eternity had great sound and you could hear everybody. Sym X was so loud and with the balance far favoring the drums it was a bit ......... distorted and Im not talking good distortion. So I hope someone gets word of this to the boys and they fire that fool. I see people that went this week in Canada said the same thing. I see their touring Europe with DT so they better get a good soundman.

I'd like to comment on Romeos guitar playing which we all know is top shelf along with his composition skills but really they all were just background music for the drums ..............:cry:

My highlight was in the end, after Odyssey when Allen was shaking hands with the people up front, he spotted me in the back with my power fists in the air, did a double take, pointed his mic and gave one back with a nod. Great frontman he is.