Tabs Or Ear Training?

Tzoni

New Metal Member
Nov 4, 2006
Argos, Greece
Everyone, I've been playing guitar for like two years and I would like to know if it's best to learn a song by ear, or try playing it by reading a tab. My personal opinion is that ear training is best, but still, I don't know if reading tabs is going to better my techique. Anyone playing guitar here, I'd like your opinion.

Well, it's important that you start to use your ears to understand the riffs for first, and then te solos. But if you can use the tabs to correct the things that you have done wrong, like misunderstanding the whole tuning of the song.

P.S.
I've started to tab a future uncertain, only the first measure :p

http://www.*************/files/room47/1353595/a future uncertain.gp5

Hey Tzoni,
Welcome to the forum! Toanswer your question, I have to agree with Galliral(Welcome to the forum man!) in that focusing on developing your ear will be key_ to not only your guitar playing, and to learning your favorite songs, but will focus you on the music you hear in your head as well.
Tablature is a great way to learn songs as well, and, as Galliral pointed out, a great way to double check things, make sure they're in the right places, incudling tuning. Nothing beats actual authorized transcriptions. As one who has done this for a living for a short time with transcribing music for a guitar magazine, and in years and years of lessons as well, trust me when I say, you need to know the source is reliable! There's a lot of stuff on the net that's both good and reliable, and stuff that might be someone's first effort at transcribing, so always, if you're checking internet tab, get a few references, and use your ear_ to decide which transcription is "closer to the truth".