The New Kid...

Meisterjäger

Douchebag
Oct 19, 2007
www.myspace.com
Hey guys, just popping my proverbial cherry by kickin back an sippin a cold one, straight from your fridge! :kickass:

I'm interested in setting up a small recording area at home with my existing computer, but I dunno where to start! I guess I may need to upgrade my system, cos it's getting on a bit... 2.2gb AMD 3000 processor, windows XP home... and everything else is pretty basic... Anyway, I'll be trauling these boards (don't worry, I DO know how a search function works...!) in hope of finding out everything I need to know, not just production tips, but tips on buying the best gear for my money. I'm sure you've all got some awesome tips to give me, should I ask! I studied Music Technology for a year, but out lecturer didn't know what he was talking about, and I basically spent that entire year dicking round on a Yamaha 8 track recorder with an acoustic guitar... I need HELP, guys!!

For the record, I have barely anything, recording wise at the moment. I do have a Line 6 Toneport, which is okay for what it is... but I won't be making any demo's with it. I'm interested in having a small mixing desk and a few mics. I'm currently playing with an LTD EC-1000 with an EMG 60 in the bridge (flipped the 81 and 60) and a Fernandes Ravelle with a JB bridge and sustainer. Amp wise, I have a Peavey Valveking head that I have all my pedals goosing and I'm having fun playing around with it. This amp can do metal, for sure! I also have a 5150 2x12 combo and a 6505 head, into a Marshall 1960A. In the not too distant future I plan on buying an ENGL Invader 100 and a Basson 4x12. My influences, tone wise, are currently that of Unearth, All That Remains, Soilwork, Shadows Fall etc.