The pre-production proces....

uploader

New Metal Member
Jul 17, 2007
Hey guys , i was wondering can some one explain me the pre-production proces.. im a newbie , and i was jumping to the biger stuff , but never , learned the begining.

for me preproduction is a process where you get with your band or what ever band you are working with BEFORE you get in the studio and listen to the songs and try to get "away" from being in the band and really listen to the song. figure out of everything is really working for common sounds or a theme . try and figure out if all of the songs are in the same key or if modulations would work for certain parts to add tension or improve dynamic feel. also to work out technically demanding parts of the song or to make sure everyone is actually playing parts that are correct and in key "dude that sucks, but dude I have been playing it like that for four years" those are the things that I think pre production can really help you to get a handle on. also you can find problem areas that you can start to work out solutions for BEFORE you get your band in the studio. or to work out how the fuck am I gonna get that to record worth a damn!!!!!! another thing is to get people to maybe start to play the same thing more than once in a row(like drum fills or solo's)

ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Love Curran

My take on it is....

A producer or engineer works with the band before the studio recording starts and they go over each song recording it possibly and just figuring out how the structure goes. They suggest things like maybe a chorus here or put the breakdown at this point or do a solo here or sing this way...Get my drift.

There is more I'm sure but thats what Ive got so far from watching dvd's of bands in the studio during pre production. There just working out all the kinks and letting the engineer/producer get acquainted with the music and putting his 2 cents in.

Please add or correct me people if I'm way off on this :zombie: