The Process

guitarded88

Jan 25, 2009
Waterloo/Brampton, ON
I was just wondering what everyone's song writing process is?

Prior to my introduction into the world of home recording I was a huge Guitar Pro fanboy, and wrote a crap load of arrangements.

Now I'm looking to move to a more recording centred writing process, but that is still quick and easy.

For Guitar, I run the preamp of my 5150 (effects loop send) into logic and then add impulses, which is quick, easy and yields pretty good results.

Then when it comes down to drums and bass i get stumped. In the past I have imported my Guitar Pro 5 midi files into logic and then ran the drum midi into superior Drummer 2.

The problem is it brings all this other midi data that moves my faders around and pretty much fucks everything up. Then I get discouraged and the song doesn't get done. In addition it takes me hours to find good synth sounds, tweak drums and VST bass sounds and in the end they all sound like shit anyways.

What do you guys use to do quick and dirty recordings to get ideas down (please give me something more than "real drums and real bass")?

Is there a program that integrates better with logic than guitar pro, but still makes for easy quick midi arrangements (piano roll is good but not great).

first, about midi, i had the same pb. It is simple to solve : in cubase at least, I opened the midi track file and I could see all the midi infos, and in the beginning, there were a lot of CC change etc that guitar pro included, dunno why. Just delete them, and the pb is solved you have a clean midi track that you can run in EZdrummer or S2.0.