tips for becoming harder

Nesidara

Faery Dryad
May 7, 2002
Ontario, Canada
www.chivalra.com
Hi everyone! I'm new here, but I figured it would be the best place for me to ask some questions :)

I'm a musician, who up until the past 6 months was playing mostly alternative folk and light rock stuff. But Like I said that was until 6 months ago, when I started getting in to true metal and power metal.
Now I'd like to venture in to this genre. But I'm having a hard time writting stuff that is heavier then what I nromally write.
Even my bar chords and power chords don't sound "heavy enough" to my ears. Mind you I don't own an electric guitar (well not yet... I'm in the middle of finding one)
All I have is my Jaguar acoustic electric, right now.

So any helpful hints anyone could give me would be great...
Remember, I'm asking for HELPFUL hints, please no sarcastic remarks please :)

Thanx
Nesidara

As Hetfield once said, "heaviness is an attitude." There are some basic things you can use to sound heavier (pedal tones, diminished fifths, heavy muting, etc), but in the end its just the energy you can convey with the song. Black Sabbath didn't have modern hi-gain amps, and they wrote some of the heaviest songs ever. Hell, I'd even say Queen is one of the heaviest bands I can think of. Granted, having an electric guitar and a good tone will make this come more naturally, but until then, just keep writing music and don't worry about convention. Practice and dedication will get you where you want to be.

thanx alot Brand! I've been trying alot to keep my spirits up and positive about writting metal, but today I was getting frustrated, but your advice just gave me a good boost of inspiration
Thank you
:)