Trying to get a 5150-ish guitar tone with Revalver MKII

I love the tone of a 5150, and for convenience I have been struggling to find a way to get a similiar tone at home. Our other guitarist owns the real deal, and of course I could reamp my tracks with it, but I'd like to have a kickass tone for quick demoing at home, too.

Here's a crappily played played clip of Arch Enemy's Nemesis with Revalver MKII trying to imitate a 5150: http://www.syliin.com/jarkko/RevMKII%20Enemy.mp3

Got any tips or suggestions on getting a closer to original tone?

Thanks!

Hey man, I thought it sounded pretty cool. It's missing something though to the real 5150.

What's your settings though? I just got ReValver MkII so I'm still learning alot with it.

Well, 5150 or not, this is a good sound man.
I would scoop mids a little bit (around 250 - 500 hz), add some "punch" (around 125 hz) and maybe use a bit more gain (not sure about that, anyway...)

Which impulses did you use?

Good work!

Thanks! I agree that it still needs tweaking, though.

What's your settings though? I just got ReValver MkII so I'm still learning alot with it.

A bug in Revalver doesn't let me save any presets (which I just found out :/), but it was basically a Greener pedal to a Kitty amp on modern channel. Somewhat scooped and moderate gain. It was then routed through Guitarhack's Mesa center impulse. After Revalver I applied a Waves C4 with Sneap's settings. Finally I sent the four guitar tracks to a group channel where I did the final EQ'ing.

Well, 5150 or not, this is a good sound man.
I would scoop mids a little bit (around 250 - 500 hz), add some "punch" (around 125 hz) and maybe use a bit more gain (not sure about that, anyway...)

I actually scooped the hell out of it already, but yeah, it could use some more :) Have to try adding some punch and I definately agree on adding just a bit gain. Cheers!

Yes, those sims have a lot of mids, even if scooped...