UFO in San Francisco

ElectricWiz

Steal Your Face
Feb 18, 2003
Visit site
I'm just back from the UFO show here in SF; it was killer - way better than I expected even. Phil is in GREAT voice, especially for his age. Vinnie Moore is a bit shred-y for my tastes, but that detracted in no way from the overall effect, and it was pretty damned cool when they just cut him loose in a couple songs (Rock Bottom - Too Hot To Handle). He kept the sound retro (tone-wise) in the right places though. Also, Paul Raymond is left handed, I knew this...but he actually strings his guitar upside down, low strings on the bottom. I had no idea. Must be self taught or something. Weird, and cool. No Pete Way, as you might know, but that was no big deal to me. Still a KILLER show. So glad I went.
Phil was quite funny, I thought. He did a little Steve Marriot imitation that was dead on, basically straight from Rockin' the Fillmore...he made a bunch of other tongue in cheek jokes. Opening band was some reformed classic metal band called Ruffians that were quite good, but lyrics were all hopelessly 80s, with titles like, "Do or Die," and "Fight for your Right." They are from CA, so are basically local, but I don't think they were from the Bay Area. Very Maiden/Saxon NWOBHM.

The soundman did a dynamite job, simply pure class. Everything was audible, separated, just...the kind of sound one rarely hears at shows. Not over-loud either, which can be a problem in smaller venues.

Great, great show. Every time I put on a UFO album I remember they fucking rule; this show did nothing to change that fact. First time I've seen them, incidentally - long overdue.

Setlist (not in perfect order; I don't think I forgot anything):
Mother Mary
Long Gone
Hard Being Me
Pushed to The Limit
This Kids
Only You Can Rock Me
Ain't No Baby
Heavenly Body
Baby Blue
Too Hot To Handle
Lights Out
Love to Love
Rock Bottom
Doctor Doctor
Shoot Shoot

I had my wife's iPhone in my pocket, so I snapped some photos too!