Ulver?

Useful Idiot

The Infested Monkey
Jul 20, 2001
CA, USA
Hey, I'm really new to this band...could someone give me a brief rundown on them and their history? I'm a little confused with the whole black metal/atmospheric thing I'm hearing...thanks.

i think it;s best to go to www.opeth.com and biogrpahy if you want to know teh history. as for the atmosphere i don't think it's black or white metal. since the music is influence by more than 20 other genre of music, so i have no idea.

there's not a whole lot of biography with ulver, but here's a basic rundown:

the vocalist and frontman is Christophorus G. Rygg, also known as Garm. He started Ulver (norwegian for "wolf") as a folk-black metal outfit. the first cD was "bergtatt" then came an all-acoustic album called "kveldssanger" and then a badly recorded, super trashy "nattens madrigal".

while all this was going on, garm did vocals for the first two Borknagar cd's, and for Arcturus as well.

Ulver then released a 2Cd called "themes from William Blake's The Marriage Of Heaven and Hell". By this point they had left Century Media and signed a contract with Jester Records. This CD saw a departure from their previous style, as it encompassed not only heavy guitar stuff, but industrial and ambient influences as well.

there was the metamorphosis EP, which basically led up to "perdition city" which was an eclectic mix of remix and organic sounds (saxophone, etc) and very little in the way of vocals.

then came the 24-minute, 1 -track, limited edition "silence teaches you how to sing". supposedly, there is another EP on the way, as wel as a re-recording of Nattens madrigal.

for more information, go to these sites;

http://www.lostinmoments.cjb.net
http://www.onlythewolf.knows.it

I've heard 3 distinct sounds from this band. The trashy black metal, the Blake stuff, and some other stuff with classical guitars and wordless vocals. I really love the latter style. Which album would that be?

A few things...