Unreleased song from my band/MELODIC HARDCORE

chrisadvocate

Apr 15, 2011
So I just finished tracking this out and did what I could mix wise for it, not really sure where to go from here. Been mixing for about 2 weeks now, so I'm pretty new. I'm open to all suggestion/criticism, and preferably advice on how to improve it. The guitar work is sloppy, I'm a drummer and I don't play much, so yeah, but it's passable for a demo.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8879741/Red n White rough.mp3

Thanks in advance guys.

Guitars have too much low mids I think. And they lead tone is a bit too high in the mix. There's some mix distortion going on as well. Otherwise I think it's really effin' cool!

i agree with morten on this one, your rhythm tone is really low-middy and really really muddy, and the drums sound like they are pumping in the overheads, but i think the snare sounds pretty alright, the kick doesnt have enough attack for my liking, The bass tone fits in the mix alright but the tone itself doesnt have any presence to it, but thats just in my headphones , otherwise I love the veil of maya feel to the tone of the guitars, if you could stop the mix from distorting and add a bit more presence to them you'd have it :), great composition too

How can i add more attack to the kick with out making it too clicky in the high range? And i have absolutely no idea what to do for bass tone, i just screwed aroudn for like 30 seconds with the eq. Unless i turn the bass wayyy down, it overpowers the rhythm a lot, so i'm not sure how to give it presence without overpowering everything else. I'll try un-mudding the guitars by bringing down the low mids.

I agree with what's been said already. The guitars have too much low-mid end going on and could use a little bit of compression (IMO), and the lead tone is sitting a little high. I really dig this track though, you should upload the stems!