URGENT: NEED HELP DESPERATELY

Trep

Mar 16, 2008
Sydney, Australia
Im mixing and Recording some tracks for a band and they are getting it mastered elsewhere. This is my first time doing this and i NEED some help in seting my master bus levels. Ive Been Waiting on them to get some more Contact details for the Engneer doing it so i can find out what he wants.... they havent done that and its Deadline in a few Hours. I hate bands.... ANYway....

To my Understanding, (which is small) Master bus levels should not Exceed -12dB in Protools for usage with analog Gear? Im not sure if this is Right??

I Will mixing down some sub Mixes too. Drums Guitars Bass Vocals, Incase of problems. and Full mix's as well as a 1k reference tone

My Question is:

1. What Level is the Maximum Peak Suppose to be in Protools before Mix Down
2. What level should the maximum peak be in my Sub Mixes
3. How should i Cnotrol this- Master/individual channels
4. What Bit/Sample Rate should i Be using
5.What leel should the Reference toe be at
6. Am i Going in sane for nothing!!!! Will regular mixdown (not exceeding 0dB be ok????)

HELP!!!!!

Any Advice will be Very usefull.....

Thanks VERY VERY Much
:zombie::erk::cry:o_O:cry::puke::OMG::ill:

Always give the mastering engineer lots of headroom. I usually mix with everything peaking at -18 across the board when mixing ITB.

Give him the same bit rate as you recorded at. The final jump down to 16 bits will be done by him.

Ok, I think i already know the answer to this, Should i Pull Down My Master Bus Level Down, or My individual channel Level Down to not exceed -18 on the master Buss.

Whts the Correct Gain structure for This.

I personally use the channel levels to bring it down to that level and mix peaking around there as well.

I track everything peaking at those levels as well, with the exception of guitar and bass DI's.