Were the Hell do I Start With Recording?

epicpenguin

Isa pooped ma anus
Dec 21, 2011
England
I have been playing guitar for 3 years now and i want to start recording. there i a lot of material on the internet about using DAW's but i dont even know what the best way to get an amp in to a computer yet. if an experienced home recorder could help that would be really cool.

There are several methods that you could use to record your music. I can only share with you what I have done myself.

Now the two different methods that I have used are either mic your amp and record this way which is probably the better method, or use something like Guitar Rig to record your guitar parts directly to your computer.

Either way you will probably mix all the parts together in a DAW. There are several choices and its really up to personal preference. I, myself, have gotten really comfortable with Sonar, but I have also used Ableton Live and thats not bad either.

Now for miking your amp you will need a mic (preferably a phantom powered mic) and I myself plug the mic into a mixer which can then be plugged into your computer's line-in and then you can record using your DAW. Anyways I don't know if this helps, but I hope at least it gives you some ideas.

Going the "all computer" route....

You need some sort of interface to get the guitar into the computer. You can get a USB interface that has a guitar input on it. Personally I use an M-Audio Fasttrack PRO.

Then you need software. Cubase, Pro Tools, Logic - take your pick. I've used Cubase and Logic, and now I use Reaper. There's a uncrippled demo version available, and it's about $50 to buy. Think of this as you're multitrack recorder.

You'll need effects for your guitar. Amplitube and Guitar Rig are two commercial packages. There are also a lot of freebies about. They're not as polished and sometimes you have to stick a few together, but you can get good results. These are your effects, and guitar amp.