What do you record in mono and what in stereo?

The-Zeronaut

Mixing..Y U SO DIFFICULT?
Sep 24, 2007
sorry if this thread is repeated or if its a dumb question but
im a noob and this will be very helpful to me (and for others i hope)

What do you record in mono and what in stereo?
and...why do you do that?

make a list like this ( M = mono , S = Stereo)
Kick : M (for example)
toms : S (For example)

-----------------------
Kick :
Snare :
Toms :
HiHat:
Overheads:
Bass :
Guitar Rhythm:
Guitar lead:
Vocals:
Choirs:
Keyboards:
-----------------------

P.S : another question
Do you normalize tracks after you record them?

Thanks for your help!!
id be nothing without this forum

Everything in mono except stereo synth patches. Stereo effects get applied after the fact. I'll split overheads/room mics for drums onto separate channels in case I need to tweak something in there- bring up the ride for a section or whatnot.

I never normalize.

Everything in mono except stereo synth patches. Stereo effects get applied after the fact. I'll split overheads/room mics for drums onto separate channels in case I need to tweak something in there- bring up the ride for a section or whatnot.

I never normalize.

+1

a Thread about Normalize

i really dont understand the OH and ambience in mono... arent they for taking and stereo image of the drumkit?

You track the different mics in mono. The left overhead mic to its own mono track and the right overhead to its own mono track. You could technically record them to stereo, its a preference thing, but it seems like alot of the members here, myself included, like to have them in separate mono tracks which you pan to opposite sides.

I record everything in mono. Even hardware keyboards :lol: With keys I'll usually keep them panned hard L&R, but sometimes there's a patch, or something we do with post fxs that require I bring the stereo spread in so it isn't SO wide.

MONO FTW :kickass: