What mic to get for my interface?

Dexter_prog

New Metal Member
Apr 5, 2006
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Hey. So I am planning on getting my first microphone and, as you may have surmised, I am a newbie on this too :). So here are my doubts and what I want the mic for:

1) My interface is a Presonus Firebox. I (vaguely) remember about some type of mics that should be avoided for this interface for some reason. If anybody knows anything on this I'd be glad to learn. I might be wrong, of course.
Edit: here's some stuff on this:
http://forums.presonus.com/showthread.php?t=7625
http://forums.presonus.com/showpost.php?p=1922&postcount=2

edit2: ok, all those preamps he recommended are from Presonus, so my bullshit-meter is peaking high...

Does that mean that I am fucked and have to get a pre-amp? Because that would rape my budget.
Are those mics that the Presonus admin recommended any good? Audix OM5, Sennheiser E835

2) I want to record vocals.

3) I don't have much money. Some friends told me to get a Shure sm57 or sm58 which are around 100 usd in USA and the prices in Argentina are usually between 170%-200% of the original price (that is to say: 100 in USA are 175 or 200 in Argentina)
To make it more precise:
sm57 @ musiciansfriend: 100 usd
sm57 @ Argentina: 155 usd

sm58 @ musiciansfriend: 100 usd
sm58 @ Argentina: 181usd

So I beg that for any recomendation you can think of you multiply the price by 1.75, so you keep within my budget.

4) Budget: 200 usd TOP (Argentinian prices, see point 3)

That's all. If I should provide more info, please ask me. Thanks in advance

You should consider the Shure SM7b.
Its a little bit more expensive than the SM57 but you can find it used on eBay
for about 250USD.
Its a great mic for vocals, especially rock and metal stuff.

A SM57 will always serve you well and every studio has several
of them but Im not sure you will like it on vocals or acoustic guitar.
You wont regret buying one but dont expect it to work on everything.