Which guitar for my brand new Bill Lawrence pickups please !

Jan 30, 2008
France
Hello there, Johnny Rico from France !

I've bought three months ago L-500 XL and R pickups from Bill Lawrence (the one and only) but I can't decide which guitar would be the perfect choice to host these babies.

Naturally, I've bought these because of their great reputation, and, as a great fan of Nuno and Dimebag, I always wanted to try these pickups...

I'd like a guitar with punchy low end, no vibrato at all and a strat look-like but I'm not really experienced about different woods for guitar.

In some other worlds, I'd like a big killer tone :headbang:, but I'm not really into Mesa Boogie modern sound, my main gears are:

-Tech 21 SansAmp PSA-1
-ADA MP-1 Classic
-BBE 362 NR Sonic Maximizer
-Peavey Classic 50/50 & Bandit 112 Mark II
-Rocktron Intellifex
-Custombuilt 2*12 Cabinet w/ Electrovoice EVM12L speakers

My budget is around 1500/1900 US $ (about 1000/1200 € in France).

One thing too, I'm a rythm and lead guitar player, so 24 frets would great !

Please help me !

PS: sorry for my english :saint:

Hey Johnny Rico, I need a corporal - you're it until you're killed or I find someone better!

Seriously though, welcome! Your english is great dude, so no sweat! I don't know how much it'd be to get one in France, but I'd recommend a Carvin DC127 to you in a hot second - if you've got that kinda budget, you gotta go custom, and nobody does it better than Carvin for the price! Also, I'd recommend NOT getting the body sides rounded (here's rounded, here's unrounded, I definitely prefer the 2nd), but that's just a looks preference. Sweet gear you've got too! How do you like the PSA-1?

And that first quote was from Starship Troopers in case you didn't know. :)

I've bought three months ago L-500 XL and R pickups from Bill Lawrence (the one and only) but I can't decide which guitar would be the perfect choice to host these babies.