Workflow setup, client management and other issues

Potapka

New Metal Member
Sep 18, 2009
Belarus, Minsk
Hi, I’m pretty new to the trade, and currently I have this “mixin’-for-friends-and their friends” operation going in my house (after my day job, of course :) ), got lots of crazy kids and cheap-ass bands coming, because I charge low. My primary target for now is not money, but rather getting more experience in mixing, workflow organizing and “client management”. Ah, and the fun of it!

The problems that I’ve recently noticed include:

1) I need to kinda… keep bands from listening to the mixed tracks for 100 times and coming up with more and more edits (99% of them are absolutely unnecessary, anyway, and it takes tooo much time, beyond any reasonable limit).

2) When you charge low, I guess, bands’ attitude inevitably shifts to “this slave-for-hire is gonna make a Grammy-winning album if we brainfuck him enough!” I’m not sure if I should charge more, because a) bands are generally very poor in my country b) my modest project-studio-level equipment and software won’t let me for now :)

3) Most bands have little or no recording experience. That means not only that I have to make hastily “mastered” client mixes for them every time (because they simply won’t understand lower RMS of a raw mix!), but I also have to tell them that “it’s not what I do here” all the time (bands sometimes want me to program their drums from scratch or these teenage metal bands would bring me a gp5 file and want me to make a “song” out of it with a few clicks, so they would have only vocals to do. I hate those things!).

4) What’s your reaction when a band member comes up with an extremely stupid or unfitting idea that would ruin the song (i.e. recording black metal-style drums for a romantic rock ballad, just because their drummer likes black metal above anything else – true story btw)? What’s the right balance between a happy client and common sense?