Your screen name - and why

MetalManCPA

Papa Opeth
May 19, 2001
Visit site
Metalmancpa

Metal - for my love of metal music

Man - other than being my gender, no other real reason

Metalman - when I was younger, I used the CB radio alot, and I needed a handle. At that time, I put the two words together

CPA - I am a Certified Public Accountant (why not be proud of an accomplishment)

Put them all together, and what does it spell? That's right - metalmancpa

"Hoser" is a term taken from an SCTV sketch comedy bit from the early 80's starring Bob and Doug McKenzie (Rick Moranis and Dave Thomas). The bit mocked the CRTC (Canadian Radio and Television-telecommunications Commission) who enforced "CANcon" (Canadian content) regulations on the show. Citing that there is no such thing as distinctly "Canadian" content, the bit was thrown together to satisfy the regulations featuring two complete stereotypes of the "Canadian identity" in Bob and Doug. The brothers often referred to each other as "Hoser" in a derogatory sort of way (i.e. "Take off, you hoser!") and it has since passed into pop culture simply as slang for "Canadian".

When I was in grade 12 I was in a graphics class and had to make a logo representing myself as a graphics company (Hoser Graphics), and then one of my assignments was industrial design and I drew a car, which was from the fictional company "Hoser Motors" (adapting my Hoser Graphics logo) which I called the Hellspawn. The Hoser Hellspawn (I liked the alliteration and though "Hellspawn" was a cool name for a car). Since it contained both the notions of Canadian nationalism and a genaral anti-religiousness, I adopted it as my online handle.

tenebrose from the latin tenabrae meaning dark or gloomy.

It is used in the old English translations of the Prophecies of Nostradamus. More specifically, in his description of August 11th 1999, my 15th birthday.

What the good prophet said: