A rare CD recommendation....

Bryant

Mr. Sleepy
Apr 14, 2002
Sweet home Alabama
Visit site
I try to keep my band/CD recommendations to the appropriate forum, but once in a while a band impresses me enough as a musician to suggest them to other musicians. I am going to the Prog Power USA this year so I checked out some of the bands and by far my favorite is Tad Morose and more specifically, their latest release "Modus Vivendi." Even though I am a guitarist, I prefer a quality experience musically as opposed to a "shredder" but this band did both to a degree.
The guitarists (a twin guitar attack) don't do a whole lot for me as far as solos, but on rythm and "licks" they are amazing. Where many bands with two guitarists just play the same power chords, to make them sound thicker, this band plays great harmony between the guitars. What I mean is, they use a good bit of variated chords with one guitar playing one part and the other playing another. They also do a lot of harmony in the licks. The band's sound is similar to oldschool American power metal like Howe era Metal Church or something, though they are Swedish.
I don't want to make them sound like the next great innovators in metal. They aren't technical wizards, but the harmony between the guitars are really good and unique. I am very impressed by their approach stylistically in the guitars and the drummer and vocalist are also very good.

Bryant

Ironbird666 said:
Sounds cool, I'll check them out.

Thanks. I am an opinionated guy but I always feel bad if I recommend a band to people and people don't like them, but aside from the musicianship aspect of the band, they simply rip as far as writing killer stuff. Of course that aspect of their music belongs in a different forum but Tad Morose is one of those bands that plays cool shit musically and even if some aren't impressed by them as a musicians, they may still enjoy them as a band overalll.