About Opeth's concept albums :).

Opethian666 said:
Blackwater Park and Ghost Reveries are concept albums about how much they hate stupid fans that think every album they make is a concept album.
LMFAO.. now it all makes sense!

..You are wise Opethian666! :lol:

biggsy said:
Only joking mate... just a lighthearted stab. I think you're right though... I always think of a concept album being a story, though I know it's any album where all the songs contribute towards a common theme as well.

I know, that's why I didn't go on to winge like a little bitch.

I'm a music and drama student, and the thing about concept broadway shows is that they pretty much have no plot, but all the songs tie together with a theme. That's where my confusion with albums came in. Should it be defined the same way? Also, I'm not sure if you can claim that the theme of death and 'losing someone' is a particular theme of one Opeth album. Pretty much every album has that in it somewhere. In saying htat, you'd have to say that they are a concept band, but them just about every metal band would be concept. The line has to be drawn somewhere.

If I want a concept album I listen to King Diamond. Personally I find all of Opeth's music follows a certain concept, that is enough for me.

well, the hole question of concept albums is always going to be irelevant in comparison to what music is actually on the cd, but, if i were to choose an opeth album which interests me with the concept then BWP would be that album, the cover for starters sets the scene with ghostly figures and the whole 'park' theme, the songs flow in conjunction with the mood created by the lyrics and song titles i.e. 'the leper affinity'- on face value, a song called the leper affinity would suggest a feeling of self loathing and despair,
'bleak'- self explanitory
'the drapery falls'- the truth being reveiled, betrayal, hurt anguish etc