Ambient/Djent/Breakdown project (first ever post)

Apr 16, 2012
London
I'm totally new here, except for a few forays into the old mixing tips section and the gear for sale section, but i thought i'd finally become a member for real and get my mixes out there! basically, i'm a producer from london who's in a hardcore/metalcore band and who loves heavy, fucking, metal.

Here we go then:
or if you prefer better quality, the .wav is on my souncloud: http://soundcloud.com/dreamcatchmatt/joker-ambidjent-breakdown

gear-wise, its pretty straightforward:

guitars are tuned down to drop c#, going direct into Guitar Rig 5 with various patches for the clean/gain sounds, same with the bass, and the drums are the standard Ezdrummer rock kit. And this is all going into cubase 5 for mixing/mastering purposes obviously.

thoughts, criticisms, comments in general would all be appreciated, as would a sub on youtube or a follow on soundcloud, thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:
its nice to see some people still play above drop b :) i think it all sounds nice, the snare once in a while bothers me. i think itd be easier to judge if you had full chorded sections and not just a few duh duh, duh duh duns lol. imo.

Well, it's not bad, but it needs work to get there. Everything sounds very raw and untouched. The drums are pretty lifeless and sound robotic. The guitar tone needs some EQing to get it there. The bass could be much more present, too. Essentially, everything needs a lot of compression to give it some juice and punch, and lots of surgical EQ'ing to give everything its own space.

I agree about the snare with corymg, i can't work out what it is, i might try a different sample all together. Any thoughts on how to get the drums less robotic? because i spent a while varying velocities as much as i could