An Introduction and a request of sorts...

Necromortis

Mar 7, 2005
Hi all,

I've just joined UM.com, but I've been reading a lot of the posts on the boards for about a year now. It looks like a great place. So I decided to join up.

I live in California, but I'm South African. I hate our President, but that isn't relevant. I've been playing the guitar for about four years. I listen to a lot of bands, but mostly Melodic Death Metal like old In Flames and Dark Tranquillity. I'm also fond of Viking/Folk Metal a la Ensiferum.

Which leads me to the actual point of this thread, the request.

Well, I'm in a desperate need for some bands to listen too. I've tried Helloween, Hammerfall, and Death Angel. The just weren't really my style I suppose. I'm looking for something heavier than them, but not so minimilistic and un-accesible.

Anyway, I was wondering if any of you could recommend some good Melodic Death Metal/Gothenburg bands ('cause I guess that's what old In Flames and DT are). I know there's already a thread, but I thought that this was quite a bit more specific than that, and I wanted to introduce myself.

If any of you also happen to know some good Viking/Folk metal that is a bit more accesible than some of the minimilistic stuff it would be great if you could tell me about that as well.

In fact, if you think you have any bands that I would like that don't fall under those two categories (I'll give you a list of bands I like in a minute), then please, tell me about them.

I like, besides the aforementioned Dark Tranquillity, older In Flames, and Ensiferum: Children of Bodom (though I'm beginning to get tired of the hype around them), I enjoy listening to Nightwish now and then, and I've got a few tracks from Immolation and Arch Enemy. So based on those, please see the above paragraph.

Thanks so much,
Necromortis

P.S. Sorry for such a long post, and sorry for creating yet another recommendation thread, but it is rather specific. Thanks again.