Andy - Opinion of new Nevermore?

May 7, 2002
Sydney - Aus
Visit site
Just wondering what you thought of the production on the new Nevermore album?

I must say it doesn't stand up to Dead Heart... not even close.

That album is probably one of the best sounding metal albums I've ever heard. I'm an audio engineering student and that album to me just sums up metal perfection.

Sadly EoR does not... what do you think?

And what would you have done differently if you were doing the mix?

Glad you liked DHIADW though. Some people have commented on the gtrs being muddy and I listened to it again the otherday. What people dont understand is a guage 80 bass string will sound signficantly different (this is what Jeff was using for the low B). I'm pretty happy with that album even now, there's old school Nevermore fans, who prefer Neil Kernons work, some like mine, personally I enjoy both, I think we both brought some interesting and different qualities to the table.

I listened to the mp3 on the Century Media site, and to me, it didn't sound like it was mastered yet. Then again, it was an mp3, and I was listening on headphones. The guitars sounded more organic than they do on DHIADW to me, but that is by no means a put-down on Dead Heart, just a comparison. The guitars on Dreaming Neon Black are so interesting because you can hear the speaker getting to the excursion point at times, which sometimes makes stuff sound weak when its really technical like Nevermore, and is better for Motorhead type stuff, but it works SOOO well. I wish I could get my guitars to sound so "appropriate".

Comparing DHiaDW to previous Nevermore the guitars are a bit muddy, much in part to the 7 string (actually sounds much like Dickensons solo work, both use bass strings on the guitar). That low E string on a 6 string is pretty easy to keep bright. And I've never tried to record a 7 string with bass strings (or without) so I can't comment on that.