As I don my corpsepaint and sacrifice a virgin...

NAD

What A Horrible Night To Have A Curse
Jun 5, 2002
Kandarian Ruins
AKA recommend me some black metal for the coming winter. I'm new to this stuff, and the only albums I have are Bergtatt, Nattens Madrigal, and the first Borknagar. Out of those three I prefer the mysterious and gloomy yet beautiful Bergtatt, so where should I go now?

Thanks in advance! :wave:

So you've already ordered "In the Nightside Eclipse." That's a good start.

I'll include heathen/NSBM stuff here, because it's easier. Same musical roots as BM anyway. Get any/all of the below:

Mayhem "De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas"
Ignore those who whine about the vocals. The music on this is influential like no other BM album. It has amazing atmosphere and riffage, no filler tracks. One of the greatest BM albums ever... but yes, I would have liked to hear it with Dead on vocals. Any MAYHEM released after this can be safely skipped.

Burzum "Hvis Lyset Tar Oss", "Filosofem"
I don't even know how to describe these... "Hvis Lyset Tar Oss" holds the most amazing piece of music I have ever heard... You'll either hate BURZUM (like Dreamlord) or you'll be absolutely entranced by its obscure beauty.

Enslaved "Vikingligr Veldi"
Their best in my opinion, epic stuff with immense atmosphere... Yes, they call themselves viking metal but it came from the same scene as Mayhem, Immortal, Darkthrone and all the other Norwegian bands and does sound like it.

Helheim "Jormundgand"
Read my review of it on RC, that about sums it up.

Bathory "Blood Fire Death", "Under the Sign of the Black Mark"
Early BM, but more intricate and progressive than you might believe. UtSotBM was certainly very progressive in its day, with all the synthesizers and stuff. Not only fascinating history lessons but downright amazing albums in their own right.

Darkthrone "Transilvanian Hunger"
I think my review of this on RC also pretty much covers my feelings about it. A must-have, to say the least.