Becoming a Good Lead Player--Best Approach?

Matt Smith

THEOCRACY
Jun 11, 2004
Athens, GA
www.theocracymusic.com
OK, ever since I started playing electric guitar I've loved playing rhythm most, and I've got rhythm playing down to a science. I can play leads, but really only simplistic, "soulful" kind of stuff and cool harmony lines. I never bothered trying to learn to shred because my songwriting was (still is) the priority. But now I'm ready to take the next step and try to become a solid lead player as well. Where should I start? Getting a book and learning the different scales? Or just trying to learn solos I like by ear? Both? Something else? Hit me.

Sometimes I'll see some guy who's been playing for like 3 years and he can solo circles around me (pretty embarassing since I've been playing a lot longer), so there's got to be a way to improve my skills exponentially and quickly, especially since I'm already so familiar with the instrument and have a quick left hand just from riffing.

My suggestion would be to start learning Michael Angelo's 'No Boundaries'. It's not the most exciting of written material, but it's more or less a collection of excercises that also happen to sound somewhat decent. I'm learning both this and a Necrophagist track at the moment, and they're helping me push my playing further.

I hate to say it but being a good song writer is more important than being able to solo, and playing melodically well is more important than shredding. That said, if you take one of your melodic/feel solos and learn to play it double time, you are halfway there. Take a look a great soloist like George Lynch, he doesn't use a ton of scales but has both melody and flash. Anyone can learn techniques, loads of scales and theory. It's applying all that in a musical way that takes time and personality.