Best $11 I Ever Spent!

secret_weapon

Feb 8, 2003
Warren, RI, USA
www.azmodius.com
:lol:
Hello Everybody,

I'm new to this board (just signed on today), but I wanted to pay a belated compliment to the band for excellent live work, and moreover, for bringing it to the cultural gulag (did I spell that right?) that the States have unfortunately become thanks to the teen-pop phenomenon. Anyway, I thought the band's show in West Warwick, RI, USA on the Metalhead tour was one of the best shows I've ever seen, so here's a belated review....

It was October of 2000. I was a student at a small college in a small New Hampshire town, going about the business of a student at... never mind...when I stumbled upon a report online that Saxon were coming to (of all places!), the Station rock club in West Warwick, Rhode Island (my home state)! I had tons of work to do, but as soon as I found out, I decided: screw philosophy class, I'm going down there! I called my friend (and drummer) Adam, and even though he wasn't really into Saxon at the time, he agreed to go.

Man, we expected a pretty cool show, but nothing could have prepared us for what we saw! After local metal heroes Slight Of Mind finished up a commendable 30-minute set with shoddy sound quality (the sound man, like many others I have seen, apparently didn't realize that the guitar was supposed to be more than a decoration), UDO took the stage for just under an hour, playing a nice mix of old Accept and very similar UDO tuneage, guitarists Igor Gianolo(?) and Stefan Kaufmann (yes, that one!) displaying no shortage of tasteful licks.