best UNDERGROUND BASSIST?!

NocturnalPulse5

New Metal Member
Sep 26, 2003
I love the discussion about metal bassists. I've been playing for a few years myself and now realize what a critical role they play in metal music (some more than others). I live out in Chicago, and have recently heard about this technical/death/industrial (there might be some more in there) metal band called HELL OF BLADES; rumor has it their bassist has got some incredible new technique and is an amazing player, so I thought I'd pitch it to you guys and see what you thought. I've got their e-mail and address shit off one of their flyers, so here it is if any of you want to check them out:

autogrooveinjector@hotmail.com
http://www.soundclick.com/hellofblades
http://www.metalmania.net/showband.asp?id=2214

the Flyer also says they're playing out at a place called KISS THE SKY on October 4th in Batavia, IL, which is outside Chicago.

I've been playing for a few years myself and now realize what a critical role they play in metal music (some more than others).

I must say that over the years of playing, I think the complete opposite. I think metal guitarists tend to run over the bass lines (depends on the sub-genre though) Especially those who want to sound heavy and play a lot of E-based riffs... I'd say leave the low ends for the bassists.
My band used to have two guitarists and after deciding to continue with only one, I expect to get a bigger role. I guess this goes especially for the thrash metal bands.
I think playing jazz, funk or fusion like music gives you more space to move in, more groove, more creativity, etc...

but I guess that's just my opinion :p

I think playing jazz, funk or fusion like music gives you more space to move in, more groove, more creativity, etc...