Buss compression

silvermaples

Apr 26, 2011
Sevierville, Tennessee
Hey guys just wanted to throw out a question and see how you guys might or might not approach this.

Do you use compression on your busses? example: I'm sure most of us compress everything a little, gtrs, vox, ect. but what about after you send it to a buss:

track 1. lead vox (compression)
track 2. backup vox (compression)

then

track 1, 2 > vocal buss (compression?)

then

vocal buss to master buss (compression?)

I hope I'm explaining this clearly enough, pretty much would you compress your original signal, then compress your buss group, and then finish with an overall master buss compression?

I guess I'm just trying to figure out how mixers give everything its own "space" in the mix :)

Cheers
Cory

I'm still huge newb, but what I've been doing lately is sending my vocal tracks (pre-fader) to a bus with a compressor on it. I'm not sure if it's the "proper" way. I'm still learning difference between post/pre fader/post-fx and all that in Reaper.

^ that sounds like parallel compression. What I do is eq on individual takes if need be, buss compression after. This can be done in reaper with folder tracks.

^ that sounds like parallel compression. What I do is eq on individual takes if need be, buss compression after. This can be done in reaper with folder tracks.

Hmm you may be correct. I thought with PT, you had to change the input to Aux or something on the comp?

I don't know anything about pro tools. I do know that for reaper, you use the folder option on the track screen. Insert an empty track to the left of the channels you want to bus, click the folder button once. then go right to the last track you want in that folder and click the folder button until it says "track is last in folder". Boom, bussed tracks. The first empty track now applies all effects, volume, automation, what-have-you to all the tracks inside thee folder group. Useful for drum group compression or vocal bussing.