Carcass - Heartwork Recording Process

IrfaanSE801

Jan 18, 2002
New York, USA
Visit site
Hey guys,

Kinda new to this part of the forum. Been a member of UM for awhile, just never scrolled down to see this part, but glad I did now :hotjump::headbang: Anyway, I've had this little post from another forum copied to my hard drive for awhile now, but haven't had a chance to post it elsewhere. No one else would really care to read it, but this forum should be different. It's long, I apologize, but worth it. The engineer for the Heartwork recording process gave a run down of how it all happened, so gonna post it for ya'll to read. I don't know how I got this, someone gave me a link, but it's from the Prodigy Professional forum. I copied all of it because there is some other tech talk some of ya'll might find interesting, gear talk and whatnot. I'm very very new to recording, so it dosen't make a lot of sense to me, but hopefully it'll be more interesting to the rest of you techies!

- Irfaan -

SSLtech

Location: Florida (Formerly UK) Posted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 1:48 am Post subject: Spin-off thread: "Death Metal" recording

The subject of the "Heartwork" album by Carcass came up in a different thread. rather than go even further off-topic than even I usually do, I thought I should spin it off to its own thread... here goes:
Quote:
Can you share a little info about this recording ? Maybe which mics you used ? Amps ? I would appreciate everything you still know about this session.

Well, the album sticks in my mind for quite a terrible reason. My father was in his last days, dying of cancer and I visited him in hospital daily. On one occasion I had to take the day off, after the previous afternoon (recording vocals) some of the lyrics had actually made me feel rather sick... None the less, that wasn't the intention (The band are all vegetarians by the way, and one is even a Vegan!) and I regained my composure sufficiently to carry on...