Classical and Metal

oldboy

Oct 8, 2007
I do not know much classical music, but recently I heard a very heavy and fast version of Beethoven's fifth symphony and it made me realize how heavy classical music can be. And it can also be dark, and disturbing, which are some of my favorite attributes in a composition (I guess that's why I am a metalhead). Does anybody have any suggestion about classical pieces sharing these qualities (without being dissonant)? Some of the ones I know are:
Berlioz-Symphonie Fantastique (particularly the final movement), and the second movement of the Requiem
Vivaldi-Summer from the Four Seasons
Dvorak-New World Symphony (final movement)
Beethoven-Ninth (second, and final movements), and Fifth (first, and third movements).
Thanks

I am not an expert either, but I have heard metal or hard rock versions as well as the classical arrangements of Mussorgsky's Night on Bald Mountain and Mozart's 40th & 25th Symphonies. I've heard others, but these are the ones I remember from the top of my head. I'd love to hear a metal version of Tchaikovsky's 1812 Overture, as it is one of my favorites.

Have you checked out Apocalyptica? These are the guys who brought me back to metal.

Mussorgsky's Night on Bald Mountain I know and that would be another favorite. Mozart's symphonies I do not know but I will check them out. I bought the last Apocalyptica and did not like it at all, but perhaps I need to check their earlier albums.

Rage's 'Suite Lingua Mortis" (from Speak Of The Dead) is something I've always enjoyed and I think they have done a few albums with orchestral accompaniment, but I am not sure which is which.

Henryk Gorecki- Smyphony No. 3 and Miserere
Dvorak- Stabat Mater
Holst- The Planets (Mars)
Mozart's Requiem
Ralph Van Williams- Fantasia
Samuel Barber- Adagio for Strings

When I was in band and orchestra in my highschool/college days, I remember Wagner pieces being pretty doomy and brooding. Die Walkure (The Valkyrie) comes to mind.