Cleaning Stuff

BodomiC

Nov 29, 2001
Warsaw, Poland
www.toto99.com
Hi, im a guitarist and I wanted to ask about neck cleaning cosmetics. I heard that there is something that "oils" your neck and it helps to keep the guitar neck out of being dry.

Do you guys know any of thoise cosmetics?

I use guitar honey. It works great. That and a toothbrush will also get off that finger gunk. Some people use lemon oil but I guess that can soak into the wood and soften it. It's organice so it rots or something like that. Also some people will use #0 steel wool to work that finger gunk off. I don't trust myself with that so I just use the tooth brush and guitar honey. It takes a little while but it works.

gh48.jpg

What they call "lemon oil" - I don't think it will go bad inside the wood, because according to what I heard, it's really just mineral oil with lemon scent added to it. Some people prefer tung oil over lemon oil though.

If you have an unfinished neck and/or fretboard, it will be a good idea to oil it once in a while. The oil will be absorbed into the wood and keep it flexible to avoid cracking. This is especially important if you live in a dry climate and also more important for ebony fingerboards than with rosewood. However, if you have a laquered neck (such as maple/maple), there's really no need to bother with the oil until the laquer has worn down.

'bane

Yeah, rosewood fingerboards are prety robust, but I'm not sure about maple, however, if you don't trust yourself with wire wool what works best (for me) is to mask off (with masking tape) the whole fret board, inlcuding any binding, leaving the actual frets uncovered, and then you can clean them with the wire wool without a risk. Also, it is a good idea to occasional (but not too often) clean your fretboard with lemon oil.