Coil Bass Cover

Ozzloaf

Art Geek
Jun 14, 2008
Hi,
I decided to film myself playing Coil on bass.

Hi everyone.

I wished to post one of these "bass book" entries every week or month or so and I apologize with the extremely limited supply of entries. This is my first in six months. I have been playing bass now for nine months, entirely self "taught". I'm posting this videos publicly in order to induce constructive criticism and helpful comments. Because I don't have a bass teacher, this is really my only way of learning and improving.

I decided to cover Coil, the beautiful opening track off of the new album of my favorite band Opeth. I've wished to learn one of their tracks for many months now, in fact Martin Mendez was my main inspiration to begin playing bass. Due to the complexity of their songs and the difficulty of their bass parts, I wasn't play one until now. I chose Coil because (other than it being a good song) it's short and therefore requires little memorization, and it's not AS difficult as most other Opeth tracks (whereas some are near-impossibly difficult to play!!!).

I hope you enjoy this cover,

Jake Kobrin
Illustration and Design
jakekobrin.blogspot.com

Anyway... yeah, give me some feedback.

Jake

Last edited by a moderator:
Since my speakers are broken, I can't really judge of the quality of what's played. However, I just noticed that you only play with one finger, which is something you will for sure develop and improve. You have a good source of inspiration. I just saw Martin Mendez two days ago and noticed how good he was. Never really noticed.

I cant see anything wrong with how you played that.

It also was really good to see coil played because you do appreciate a little bit more, nowyour seeing it in another aspect.