comp/limiting vocals

bryan_kilco

Nov 22, 2007
Poconos, PA
I've been getting better results lately using a slightly different method/chain on vox. I'm not sure if this is a good way or bad way, so I figured some of you could help.

I hear a lot of "compress the vocals, then compress them again, and again, etc...."

so I started going something like this:

-comp with like -12dB GR and a high ratio, fast attack and slow release

-comp with about -6 dB GR with slightly lower ratio, slower attack and quicker release

limiter

this seems to let the vocal track sit at a very flat spot and certain areas arent jumping above say -18dB.

Am I doing something terribly wrong? To my ears this seems to make the vocals sound a bit more brootz as well....maybe its the limiter causing some slight clipping?

Yeah that's what I figured....but I'm still a newb who thought he knew some stuff about all this a year ago and I'm slowly learning that the learning rate is sort of insanely slow. Kicking myself in the ass for not getting into this stuff 10 years ago.

we are all learning, brother! ...it's good to have support groups like here and gs... to open the mind a bit! :)

-comp with like -12dB GR and a high ratio, fast attack and slow release

if it doesn´t pump with these extreme settings you are fine.....12 db reduction is a lot.

I

I hear a lot of "compress the vocals, then compress them again, and again, etc...."

The idea behind staged compression, at least I thought, was to avoid hitting a signal with 12db of comp from a single unit as it is more likely to behave badly and to achieve a more transparent compression. When using several comps you distribute the load more evenly. so 4 comps with 3db of gain reduction each will still give you your 12db reduction, but more likely with less pumping/artifacts. using different attack/release times on each comp allows you to control very specific areas of the vocal separately too.