Completely new recording setup for a Mac user

Airborne

6 & 7 string guitars
Jul 2, 2009
Europe
Hey guys, I am totally new to these forums and this is my first post here.

I compose music for a new metal project. (Progressive/Trash/Melodic Death)
I am a guitarist and bass player but for this project I am working on, I also want to do everything else by myself. (Drum programming, keyboard programming + screaming vocals).
Till now I recorded music with the recording stuff from a friend. (I have short experience with Cubase, Logic and GarageBand).

Please help me to plan a completely new recording setup for me. I want to use good quality products and slowly build a cool home studio just for me. (Right now I am not completely sure how much money I will spend, but I will slowly build it up….).
At the moment I live in a small flat therefore I want to record the guitars and bass direct into the DAW.

I will buy a new Apple MacBook (the white one with a 4 GB RAM upgrade) very soon. I want to run my DAW on this.

Please recommend me some products to start out.

Here is my try:
DAW: Apple Logic Pro (or Logic Express)
Interface: Line6 Pod Studio UX2
Drum programming: EZ Drummer + Drumkit From Hell
Mic for vocals: Shure SM58; (Vocal sound is not so important right now).
Monitors: maybe something around 400 USD

I am not sure concerning the DAW.
I really want to work with Logic Pro in the future.
I don’t know if I should wait till Logic 9 will be released… and work with GarageBand (which comes along free with a new Mac) till the version 9 will be released. (???)
Another option would be to buy Logic Express and make the switch to Logic Pro when the new version comes out….

Thanks in advance.

you might find yourself a bit limited with the CPU in a macbook. 2.16ghz isn't too much to play around with.

personally, i prefer the flexibility of cubase.

UX2 is a really good choice, you get gearbox for free (and running pod farm as a plugin is so useful!).