copy/paste or full take?

euga

New Metal Member
Oct 28, 2008
Italy
total noob question!
when tracking guitar and bass do you prefer a single take of a riff and copy/paste or a take of the full song (or a big a part of it?)???

if you can play enough tight to the click which do you prefer soundwise??? and why?

it depends on the musician - if the musician sucks and is not capable of laying down a full track then i will start cutting and pasting but if the musician is good enough and is able to keep tracking and can keep up with the tempo of the song then i will most certainly make the musician do the full take.

sometimes when mixing later on i notice that the guitarists have made a slight accent change in example 1 bar so for things like that i will cut and paste to make the song more neutral throughout

so if your guitarist is having problems keeping up with the tempo of the song then just make the guitarist get 4 bars correct and then cut and paste - it will save a lot of wasted tracking time

I like copying and pasting parts that are played exactly the same. It promotes consistency and saves time. If you have two of the same chorus/verse, why play it twice for that one particular track?

You do need to have the part played ONCE for each side of the mix (one for the left hand side, and one for the right hand). You have to double track rhythm guitars for them to really sound good.

It depends entirely upon the musician and the amount of time/finances available.

Whenever possible I will try to keep things as natural as possible. It always sounds more vibey this way. Always. If the musician is capable of it, I want them to play the whole song through, and I want it to sound slightly different each time that part repeats (though always tight as hell). Anything else is cheating the end listener, but sadly that's the industry we're in, and we're forced down that road more often than not.