Creating my own drum samples, help me out

austinhue

Feb 28, 2011
Hey guys, so my band really wants to try putting our own drum samples on a record, not just SSD. I love the benefits of full drum replacement though, so we recorded/edited our own drum samples! I've never tried something this crazy before, so I'm gonna need your help to make them as close to Slate quality as I can get. I don't want them to sound just like Slate drums though, that's kind of the whole point.

Here's some details:
All drum shells are DDrums Maple.
Kick: 22x20". Recorded with an Audix D6 and a couple of SM57s (yep that's right, one buried inside by the beater and another on the outside pointed at the beater... just to add click)
Snare: 13x6.5". Recorded with two SM57s, one on top and one on bottom.
Rack: 10x8". Recorded with an Audix D4 on the top (it's what we had)
Floor: 14x12". Recorded with an Audix D4 on the top.
Bell (just for fun!): 9" Zil-bell. Recorded with an AKG C 451 B, mixed with the overheads and room.

We also set up two overheads and an SM58 room mic, but they aren't featured here. I've only gotten around to bouncing and chopping up the Z3-style crack hits.

Then the rest is EQ and compression. Let me know if you have questions about this process.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/6920288/Drum Samples.zip

I like these samples. I don't have a triggering platform, but I'll see what I can do. Make some more of these.

Thanks! I will work on chopping them up, but I have crack and hard hits for kick; crack, hard, medium, soft for snare; crack, hard, medium for toms. All split into 4 formats: dry mics with overheads, dry mics with room, only dry mics, only room. I will post them all soon.

Having any reverb on the sample perhaps?, I tried your samples, the snare is awesome, but the kick have this tail reverb and I found it clicky, what have you done on it? It is possible to hear the unprocessed one?