Dare I ask? Vocal Advice.....

DemonKnight5150

Stop scopies me
Nov 17, 2005
Baker City, Oregon
Well, I read Will's previous thread. Sorry to hear that your gig got screwed up. They going to let you make the date up? And I'm also sorry to see some troll on here acting like a fucktard. Your music kicks ass and your vocals have gotten 100% better since the first song I heard from you, though I can't remember the name.

Anyway, the last time I posted my music on here I got a lot of flack because I was pretty much labeled a "cookie monster" by some. Keep in mind, ladies and gents, that I am a drummer and the only reason I did the vocals was because we don't have anybody in the area who can growl, scream, and sing.

So here's the situation. I want to greatly improve my vocal technique and get my voice to do more than it can right now. Any books, DVD's, or even advice anybody can give me? Any help would be appreciated.

I'm seeking advice on screaming, growling, and actual singing.

I'm sure that anything would help. You seem to not be struggling. I find that I get out of breath very quickly and my throat kills me after I'm done. But it's all for the music and I don't care, lol.

There was a post called tips on grim vocals that already covered this. Type grim vocals into the forum search engine and it should come up. It covered death, black, and power/prog styles.

lol i find that i can only growl at a metal gig along with the band. i can never growl if im demanded to or just whenever. lol only when im at a metal gig. but i also sing and the only advice i was given is get lessons and just practice a fuckload. it helps... good luck

The Zen of Screaming pissed me off. I borrowed it from a friend, and was told good things, so I was anticipating something revelatory.